

November 22, 2023

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Republican Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader McConnell and Speaker Johnson,

Our federal government never should have spent time and taxpayer money on censoring conservatives. Fortunately, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) passed by the U.S. House of Representatives contains a provision to right this wrong. We write to strongly urge you to keep Section 1532 of the House bill, which prohibits funding for the blacklisting of news sources based on their political views.

As Rep. Richard McCormick uncovered during hearings for the NDAA, organizations like NewsGuard and the Global Disinformation Index (GDI) work to silence conservative media outlets that disagree with the liberal agenda

For example, the Media Research Center found that NewsGuard repeatedly scored liberal sites in the 90+ range while giving an absurd average rating of 66 to conservative sites. GDI is no better, with a history of blacklisting conservative outlets like the *New York Post, The Daily Wire, Real Clear Politics,* and *The Federalist.*

Despite NewsGuard's obvious bias the government continues to fund its efforts, bankrolling a payout of \$750,000 from the Department of Defense. Similarly, GDI received significant State Department funding, at least until its unconstitutional actions were exposed by the Washington Examiner. That which government is constitutionally prohibited from doing, it cannot contract with others to do. Please ensure that Section 1532 is preserved in the final version of the NDAA.

Sincerely,

L. Rusing -

L. Brent Bozell III Founder and President Media Research Center

Gov. Scott Walker President Young America's Foundation

Charles P. Herring President One America News Network

David Bozell President For America

Danil (. Schulin

Dan Schneider Vice President of Free Speech America Media Research Center

Ed Corregen

Ed Corrigan CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute

Penny Nonce

Penny Nance President, Concerned Women for America

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis President 60 Plus Association

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association

jon War

Gavin Mario Wax President, New York Young Republican Club

Christicke McNally

Christie-Lee McNally President, Raven Strategies

Paul Desse

Paul Gessing President, Rio Grande Foundation

Lady Brigitte Gabriel Founder and Chairman, Act for America

James Taylor President, Heartland Institute

Gene Mills President, Louisiana Family Forum

Jim Lakely Vice President, Heartland Institute

Jon Schweppe Policy Director, American Principles Project

John Att denken

John Hinderaker President, Center of the American Experiment

Phil Kerpen President, American Commitment

C. Preston Noell III President, Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Gary L. Bauer, President, American Values

Floyd Brown Editor, Western Journal

Ryan Bomberger Chief Creative Officer, The Radiance Foundation

Richard Manning President, Americans for Limited Government

Kevin D Freeman Founder, National Security Investment Consultant

Craig Shirley Chairman, Citizens for the Republic Elaine Donnelly President, Center for Military Readiness

Mat Staver Founder and Chairman, Liberty Counsel

John Pierce Chairman, National Constitutional Law Union

Patrick M. Brenner President, Southwest Public Policy Institute

Rod D. Martin Founder & CEO, Martin Capital, Inc. Kristen A. Ullman President, Eagle Forum

Mark Fitzgibbons President of Corporate Affairs, American Target Advertising

Lieutenant Colonel Allen B. West (USA, Ret) Member, 112th US Congress Executive Director, American Constitutional Rights Union

Hon. George K Rasley, Jr, Managing Editor, ConservativeHQ.com

Deborah Weiss Attorney and Author

CC: Sen. Roger Wicker, Sen. Deb Fischer, Sen. Tom Cotton, Sen. Mike Rounds, Sen. Joni Ernst, Sen. Dan Sullivan, Sen. Kevin Cramer, Sen. Rick Scott, Sen. Tommy Tuberville, Sen. Markwayne Mullin, Sen. Ted Budd, Sen. Eric Schmitt, Chairman Mike Rogers, Rep. Joe Wilson, Rep. Doug Lamborn, Rep. Robert Wittman, Rep. Austin Scott, Rep. Elise Stefanik, Rep. Scott DesJarlais, Rep. Trent Kelly, Chairman Mike Gallagher, Rep. Matt Gaetz, Rep. Don Bacon, Rep. Jim Banks, Rep. Jack Bergman, Rep. Michael Waltz, Rep. Lisa McClain, Rep. Ronny Jackson, Rep. Pat Fallon, Rep. Carlos Gimenez, Rep. Nancy Mace, Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, Chairwoman Virginia Foxx, Rep. Burgess Owens, Rep. Buddy Carter, Rep. August Pfluger, Chairman Patrick McHenry, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, Chairman Michael McCaul, Rep. Richard McCormick, Chairman Michael Turner, Rep. Brad Wenstrup, Rep. Darrell Issa, Rep. Laurel Lee, Rep. Jerry Carl, Rep. Harriet Hageman, Rep. Glenn Grothman, Rep. Scott Perry, Rep. Mike Garcia, Rep. Mike Collins, Rep. Marc Molinaro, Rep. Mark Alford, Chairman Sam Graves, Rep. Daniel Webster, Chairman Mike Bost, Rep. Morgan Luttrell