Letter of Ministers of Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (Belgium)

Protecting Minors from Online harms and risks: Age verification obligation in Commission's proposal for Guidelines under Article 28 of the DSA

Dear Executive Vice President Virkkunen, Dear Executive Vice President Mînzatu,

Several Member States – Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (Belgium) - wish to stress the crucial importance of including mandatory age verification for access to social media platforms in the guidelines on the protection of minors online under the Digital Services Act.

A non-paper presented by Greece and co-signed by France, Spain, Denmark, Cyprus, Slovenia and Italy was submitted to you on 6 June 2025 expressing our joint request and highlighting the lack of widespread and properly enforced age verification mechanisms and the need for a regulatory framework setting out mandatory age verification obligations for social media platforms.

The crisis in our children's mental health and welfare has reached a critical point, exacerbated by the uncontrolled expansion of social networking platforms that prioritise engagement over children's safety. Given the specific nature of this type of platform and the high level of risk they represent for children, proven by the international scientific community and confirmed in the very Terms and conditions presented by these players, the well-documented presence of minors on social networks should be considered a sufficiently high risk factor to require age verification as the only method of age assurance. We therefore call the Commission to move away from the current status quo regarding online age assurance methods and to consider mandatory age verification for access to social media platforms as an indispensable and appropriate measure in view of the risks involved.

We would like to reiterate our support for both the comprehensive and rich approach of the draft Guidelines and call for the full and rapid implementation of all recommendations in these guidelines, as soon as they come into force.

Yours faithfully,

List of Ministers

Alexander Pröll, State Secretary for Digitalization, Combating Antisemitism, Public Service, and the Constitution, Austria Prof. Radovan Fuchs, PhD., Minister of Science, Education and Youth, Croatia Damir Habijan, Minister of Justice, Public Administration and Digital Transformation, Croatia Dr. Nicodemos Damianou, Deputy Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Transformation, Cyprus Caroline Stage Olsen, Minister for Digital Affairs, Denmark Mattias Tesfaye, Minister for Children and Education, Denmark Clara Chappaz, Minister of Artificial intelligence and Digital Affairs, France Elisabeth Borne, Minister of National Education, Higher Education and Research, France Dimitrios Papastergiou, Minister of Digital Governance, Greece Sofia Zacharaki, Minister of Education, Religious Affairs and Sport, Greece Patrick O'Donovan, Minister for Culture, Communications and Sport, Ireland Prof. Giuseppe Valditara, Minister for Education and Merit, Italy Alessio Butti, Undersecretary of State to the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, responsible for technological innovation and digital transition, Italy Tomáš Drucker, Ministry of Education, Research, Development and Youth, Slovakia Giuseppe Valditara, Minister for Education and Merit, ItalyVinko Logaj, Minister of Education and Care, Slovenia Ksenija Klampfer, Minister of Digital Transformation, Slovenia Oscar López Águeda, Minister for Digital and Civil Service Transformation, Spain María del Pilar Alegría Continente, Minister for Education and Vocational Training, Spain

Valérie Glatigny, First Vice-President of the Government of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Minister for Education and Further Education, Wallonia-Brussels Federation (Belgium)